Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

A number of years ago I decided that I would like to work for myself. I had worked and learned a great deal in the fields of drafting and architecture (Stuart Olson Dominion, formerly Dominion Construction ), food and beverage (PNE, BC Place, newspaper and magazine publishing (Vancouver Sun and Elty Publications, graphic design and advertising (KARO Design), animation (Warner Bros, Atomic, DHX Media, purchased Studio B to name a few), and even in financial planning (Manulife Financial). When I had the opportunity to create corporate videos and do story development for special projects and documentary film, I realized that a passion of mine was creating something from nothing. My days of being an Entrepreneur were formalized and soon after I became and Enterpre-Dad.

Everything, including life itself, starts with an idea. We all of have them. Some are good and many are bad. I know because I have had more than my share of them! The bad ones that is. Fortunately, there are more than enough examples of well-known people who have experienced failure only to not quit until they had achieved not just success but greatness. Here are but a few of the more contemporary examples: Michael Jordan, Walt Disney, Steve Jobs, Oprah Winfrey, Albert Einstein, J.K. Rowling, and the Beatles.

Now, don’t get all excited. I am NOT comparing myself to this incredible group of talented people. Far from it. They are people who achieved greatness only after going through long and hard struggles and not giving up. That is the key. They never gave up. As an Entrepre-Dad, I look to their example of learning from both good and bad experiences in personal and professional life and continuing on through whatever hardships, adversities and yes, even triumphs.

So why Entrepre-Dad. Corny? Maybe But it fits what I am now. I am an entrepreneur. I am a dad. Can the two co-exist? absolutely. They have for over 5 years now and the two complement one another quite nicely. Being an involved dad, you learn all about sacrifice, compromise and remaining open to all the possibilities that kids help you to see. How different is that from being an entrepreneur. I would argue that there is very little difference.

